T - N- T
                            

 
Picture
I have shared that there is a long list of things to do before Friday. Guess I should say there is a long list of things to do before Thursday because it is a five hour drive to Nebraska to pick up my Mustang. We are heading out Thursday evening.

One of the pieces of the training facility I needed was gravel for the round pen base. If you aren't in the construction business or an avid DIY home improvement guy, you might not realize just how much gravel costs and how much you need. I confess I am not a man of money and my bigger confession is I am a man of my wife's budget. So, I needed to get creative when it came time to put a quality base down. I tried some whining and pleading to my wife with no avail (I still try after more than 20 years and I am sure I will break, errr, train her some day.)

My second strategy for getting a large quantity of gravel at a fair price was to contact a local quarry about becoming a sponsor for me during the Extreme Mustang Makeover Competition. A big thank you to Ramone at Hamm Quarry in Perry, Kansas for coming through with a very generous price.

The folks at Hamm Quarry know all about the local guy rising to success so maybe they like my story. I also know they are very generous to a number of area organizations, so combine those two traits and I was on the receiving end of a lot of help.

This doesn't let my wife or our budget off the hook. I have been building my list of tack I am going to need and some really cool gadgets.




Leave a Reply.