T - N- T
                            

 
Picture
We all know the primary reasons for training any animal is to help deliver routine healthcare and grooming. That is probably one of the most overlooked areas I see when working with a new horse. If you can't get her to lift a hoof for a good cleaning, there's no way a Farrier is going to be in a good mood.

People probably overlook the need to be predictable and consistent when working with their horse to get him used to grooming and health needs. A smart horse will try to win the game with some bullying. And that makes sense, would you want to stand around inconvenienced sometimes if you could just bluff your way out of it and get back to a luxury life of eating and hanging out with your friends.

This Saturday, I spent some time with the Miniature Horse Club at the Leavenworth County Fairgrounds doing a demonstration on training a miniature to accept a shot and worming. There are lots of differences between miniatures and full size horses. The one I like best is that a full size horse will use his sheer size and bulk to try to get one over on a handler. A miniature is all attitudes. Not sure how they know they don't have the bulk, but they sure pack some sass.

My mantra when it comes to miniatures is the same as with any animal - explain what you want them to do and then reward every step that gets to the end result. It helps that I am fairly stubborn myself so any animal that wants to use his excess energy to horse around is met with my approach - make them work extra until the extra energy is gone.

Horses will often refuse and then use all their energy to keep refusing. Well, if you refuse with me, I will just have you walking and turning and lunging until the horse thinks refusing just takes too much energy.

Thanks to the Miniature Horse Club for inviting me out. I had a great time and I always love the spunk those little guys have.

This is your new blog post. Click here and start typing, or drag in elements from the top bar.



Leave a Reply.