T - N- T
                            

 
 
There is so much to do before Friday when I pick up my Mustang for the Extreme Mustang Makeover Competition. I have had to get the training facility up to par (sorry to all the horses that trained there before in the pre-competition days, but I liked you just as much). I have been rearranging an entire summer schedule to allow for more training time (sorry honey, no vacation until after September) and I have hired a kid to help with all the farm work (thanks George but I am not sure you know how hot it will get this summer on a tractor).

Of all the things on the to-do list, I think naming my Mustang is the most fun. I was most excited about that single job. That is why I gave the task to the folks that are just excited about my summer project as I am - Allen Gate and Panel. When I talked with Mike Nevens about becoming a sponsor by way of donating a round pen for training, I ticked off the list of sponsor benefits I was providing for the summer. But after Mike responded and showed his support, I offered him a bit of fun I had been saving for myself.

When I pick up the Mustang this Friday, I won't be searching my childhood memories for a favorite pet name and I won't be pulling out my Internet research on names that mean champion and success, instead, I will be calling Mike. The staff at Allen Gate and Panel has an office competition going and the winner claims naming rights for my training Mustang.

I will admit that I have been running on excitement and exhaustion lately. I thought sharing the naming rights was a great way to show my appreciation, and then my sister pointed out that not everybody in Arkansas loves everybody in Kansas. It is just possible that a guy with an odd sense of humor could win the right and I will be training "Cutie Pie" or "Betty Boop" or "Razorback Pride". She rattled on some more heartburn inducing names as I imagined the next 3 months introducing my prize Mustang to everyone I meet.

So, here's my second plea to the staff at Allen Gate and Panel, take pity on a horse trainer from Kansas and don't make me blush every time I say my horse's name.
Karen and Tripp
6/24/2010 02:09:39 am

Hi Jay! I love naming them too. I had a couple of names picked out for my new EMM mustang but he did not fit either one, or even my back up name. He was bigger than all of them....so he needed a big name that would fit no matter what we did. :-)
Have fun!!!!
Karen and Tripp (my first EMM mustang)

Reply
jay
6/25/2010 10:03:13 pm

I need to name this horse any Ideas?

Reply
mary lou branch
6/26/2010 07:06:59 am


Hi Jay! as you know I have seen in person what a good job you do by becoming one w/horse, love to watch you work. Yes I have a name for you EMM Mustang, it is LEVI, yes like the jeans
the have been around for numerous years and so have the Mustangs.I have seen 1st. hand the connection you have w/Levi he has given his heart to you I love the connection. You'll do GREAT w/him,a fan of yours & Levi's Im also a Mustang owner and member of Miswest Mustang & Burro Saddle Club,Best of Luck in the competition. Mary Lou

Reply
Debbie
7/14/2010 11:47:02 am

have you got a for sure name for your mustang yet?? I really like the name Levi!!! It really fits him. Check out the sponsorship though. Keep up the good work. Poco misses you, and Duke is waiting for you. He is ready to play!

Reply



Leave a Reply.